FatLand for a day and a half

I came back Saturday night from the NAAFA Convention.

It was like being in FatLand (and I was thrilled to hear Mary sing a song by Mama Cass that I always loved).  Except for one or two people -and there always will be one or two- I saw no evidence of healthism or self-hatred. What I did see were many proud fat people who welcomed me.

I had one of the happiest times of my life when I gave a poetry-writing workshop entitled “Singing Our Fat Selves.” The response, in terms of enthusiasm and writing, just blew me away. There is so much energy and talent among us!

The idea of a Fat Poets Society was mentioned, and I hope that it will become reality.

On the sad side: didn’t get a chance to get to my old alma mater (Brandeis, nearby) or into Boston or Cambridge at all. The hotel said that their shuttle service did not function on weekends. 

Oh well – the hotel had wonderful bathrooms, and a pool I also didn’t get to…

One Response to “FatLand for a day and a half”

  1. Patsy Nevins Says:

    Congratulations on your wonderful convention experience. I am so glad to hear that you met good people & had a good time. I am also relieved to hear that the rank & file members of fat acceptance organizations are apparently much more fat-positive & self-accepting than some of those more public figures who represent them & who unfortunately do preach the message of healthism & apparently try too hard to “make nice” with all the fat bigots. Thanks for letting us know that so many people really do get the message & are not being unduly influenced by those with negative viewpoints. Now if we could just stretch a day & a half in Fatland to 365 days a year!

Leave a Reply

