FatLand: The Early Days – 46

“Now then,” Stark said to Bill after they had breakfasted and were sitting in the Sky Room.  “Tell me a little about what you were doing in FatLand, as they call it.”

So that’s the price, Bill thought, watching as the sun magicked the white hills into rivers of color that ran into white, then glowed fiercely.  I should have known.

“Well,” he said, “I was mostly supervising construction of housing.” True enough, as far as it went.

“Is that all?”

“Mostly. They really needed me.  They didn’t know what they were doing with large scale construction projects.  I kind of took them in hand.”

“Were you happy there?”

“Yes, I was.”

“Would you judge that you would be happier here, or there?”

“Tough one, Win.  I was happy there.  But here- ”

“Yes?””

“Here I feel as if I could fly.  Oh,. it’s an illusion, I know. But that is how that rider makes me feel.  And the whirlpools. And this room.”

“What if I were to tell you that we could cure you almost completely?”

For the first time during his stay, Bill lost his ease and assurance.  “Look,” he said, “I don’t care if you lie to me about almost anything else. But please don’t about this.”

“I’m not lying,” Stark said. “You’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg. Our medical facility can make you a new person.”

“And the price? Is it free? What do I have to do?”

“It is completely free,” Stark said. “Provided that you stay here.”

“Forever?”

“Yes.”

Leave a Reply

